UKHRUL, Oct 1: Artax A Shimray has been declared as the Customary Head of the Tangkhul Naga Long (TNL) today.
Artax defeated his nearest rival, Ex-TNL President Weapon V Zimik in the general election held today at TNL Hall here. The voting began from 7 am and went on till noon.
Out of the 471 electorate, 332 voted to decide the fate of seven candidates vying for difference posts of TNL including President and Vice President.
The other elected members are ST Reisang (Vice president) and GS Pemting (Deputy Speaker) while Abel was elected as the Speaker uncontested.
The elected body will hold the office for 4 years with immediate effect from October 2013 to 2017. Significantly, the turnout of electorates from Southern Tangkhul region was minimal.

Leave a Reply

Notify of